Corporate Structure

MIWB operates as a commercialised statutory authority to carry out its business activities which include:

  • acting as a registered Water Service Provider under the Water Supply (Safety and Reliability) Act 2008
  • managing the infrastructure required to transport bulk water from storages at Lake Moondarra and Lake Julius to customers, and applying appropriate water treatment processes to comply with MIWB’s legislative and commercial requirements
  • conducting ongoing investigations and planning for future infrastructure requirements relevant to MIWB operations
  • constructing, operating and maintaining the bulk water transport and treatment infrastructure, necessary to MIWB operations and
  • acting as trustee for the Water and Recreation R48 Reserve (R48 Reserve) on behalf of the Department of Natural Resources and Mines, as administrator of the Land Act 1994.

Board Structure

The Board of the MIWB is comprised of:

  • Four persons nominated by the chief executive of the Department of Energy and Water Supply (DEWS)
  • One person nominated by the Mount Isa City Council

The members of the Mount Isa Water Board are:

Chair: Mr Steve de Kruijff

Mr de Kruijff’s mining career spans almost four decades in the mining industry, predominantly in North West Queensland. Mr de Kruijff was previously the Chief Operating Officer for Glencore’s Australian Copper Assets Australia until February 2014. Prior to this role, Mr de Kruijff was Chief Operating Officer of Xstrata Copper’s North Queensland division from December 2006 to May 2013, and General Manager of Xstrata’s Mount Isa Copper Operations. Mr de Kruijff has been a Director of a number of Xstrata’s subsidiary companies and is a past President of the Queensland Resources Council (QRC). He is a current director of the Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy (AusIMM) and was awarded the 2008 AusIMM Jim Torlach Health and Safety Award and an OAM in the 2016 Australia Day Honors List for his contribution to the mining industry and communities.

Director: Ms Alison Bohannan

Ms Bohannan is the co-owner/Director of Hertz Mount Isa and has more than two decades of professional management, board director governance and leadership experience in the community not-for-profit and environment sectors. Ms Bohannan holds a Master’s degree in Social Policy from James Cook University, and a BA (Humanities & Social Sciences) from Central Queensland University. She is currently a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management, and a Justice of the Peace (Qual). Ms Bohannan is acknowledged for her work in the Mount Isa community by a Rotary Paul Harris Fellow (ruby).

Mr Neil Hatherly

Mr Hatherly has extensive board governance experience in several sectors, including listed companies, government-owned corporations, universities, and not-for-profit organisations.  Mr Hatherly is Chairman of Field Services Group of Brisbane City Council, a member of the Council’s Audit Committee, a director of UniQuest (University of Queensland’s commercialisation company), and Visiting Fellow to the Smart Transport Research Centre of Queensland University of Technology.  His executive career includes senior roles in hard rock and coal mine companies, and organisations focused on intellectual property; and providing consulting services and project management to the resources, energy, agribusiness, and government sectors.

Mr Myles Johnston

Mr Johnston is a geologist with 23 years experience in the mining industry, working for a number of major mining companies in a variety of exploration, project development and operational roles in gold and base metals both in Australia and overseas. Mr Johnston previously worked at Mount Isa Mines and held a number of technical and operational roles in both zince and copper business units, including General Manager of Ernest Henry Mine. Mr Johnston is a member of MIWB’s Finance, Audit and Compliance Committee.

Cr George Fortune

Mr Fortune is a Mount Isa Mines employee and is a long term resident of Mount Isa. George Fortune has been a Councilor with Mount Isa City Council since 2012. Mr Fortune is a director of MIWB by nomination of the elected City Council. He has had a long involvement with the Mount Isa Fish Stocking Group where he currently holds the position of Secretary and has been instrumental over many years in the famous annual Lake Moondarra Fishing Classic.

Mount Isa Fishing Classic 2009 Mount Isa Fishing Classic 2009